liquor and libations

get a black belt in booze

tools of the trade: a trusty citrus juicer April 9, 2007

Filed under: local,tools — liquorandlibations @ 7:00 pm

citrus-juicer.jpgI’m as lazy as the next person when it comes to making cocktails, and while I love to experiment, I always hope that my boy will offer to mix anything a little bit complicated. Up until recently, every time I made even one of my old standards like a gin & tonic, I would use bottled citrus juice. It’s very handy, and while I’m not giving up on my RealLemon and RealLime completely, I’m now a convert of pressing my own citrus.

The reason for my change of heart – my spanking new lime squeezer bought during a recent trip to Vancouver institution The Gourmet Warehouse (seriously if you live here or are coming to town, go out of your way to visit this place, you will find almost any kitchen tool or ingredient you need, and some that you wouldn’t even know what to do with).

The Amco lime squeezer is a sturdy enamel coated aluminum hand juicer that comes all the way from Mexico. While Amco sells separate juicers for each different type of citrus fruit, we’ve been using this one for both lemons and limes. With larger fruits I’m still going to have to pull out my old Vive Cuervo sombrero shaped juicer, kindly donated to me by my brother. Gin & tonics taste even better with a bit of fresh squeezed lime, next up margaritas!

 

5 Responses to “tools of the trade: a trusty citrus juicer”

  1. Sarah Says:

    This juicer is no longer available at The Gourmet Warehouse but may be same as the one listed on the CookWorks website for $29.

  2. Pedro Says:

    Great post! Fresh squeezed juice is the way to go. I’m a juicing fan myself. But i think its better to use stainless steel juice press, its more durable and hygienic, don’t you agree?

  3. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to
    be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  4. If you would like to increase your know-how simply keep visiting this site
    and be updated with the hottest news posted here.

  5. Eulah Says:

    Hi admin do you need unlimited content for your website
    ? What if you could copy content from other pages,
    make it unique and publish on your blog – i know the right
    tool for you, just search in google:
    Ziakdra’s article tool


Leave a Reply

